NORTH MERRICK
PUBLIC LIBRARY

1691 Meadowbrook Road
North Merrick, New York 11566
(516) 378-7474 Fax (516) 378-0876
www.northmerrickpubliclibrary.org


Online Databases

Home | About Us | Job and Careers Information | Library Catalog | Online Databases | Museum Passes
Newsletter | Internet Links | Young Adult | Children's Room | Friends | Community Directory

 

North Merrick Library cardholders can search many on-line databases from home or in the Library.
Those not able to be used at home are marked as such and are only available in the library.

Have your library card available. You must enter your library card number to
access these databases from home.

To see a list of databases organized by topic click here.

Databases A to Z

Core Collection
ABI/INFORM Dateline
Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids and magazines.
Home Use
Core Collection
History Resource Center: US
Provides integrated access to over 4,000 primary documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journals covering pre-Colonial times to the present.
Core Collection
ABI/INFORM Select
Provides information on advertising, economics, human resources, finance, marketing, and computers.
Home Use
Core Collection
Hoover's Company Records
Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives.
Home Use
Core Collection

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Search more than 1200 business periodicals with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, and marketing trends.
Home Use

GaleGroup
Search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on business, health, industry, current events, the arts, science and entertainment.
Ancient and Medieval History Online
Explores the pre-modern world focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia.
Informe
Colección de revistas sobre diversos tópicos en español.
Core Collection
Annals of American History
Explore the rich and varied history of the United States.
Home Use
Investext Plus
Find investment, company and industry reports from over 500 brokers in North America, Europe, Asia/Pacific, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East.
Core Collection

African American Experience
Research African American history and culture.
Home Use

Junior Edition - K12
Provides students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books.
Associations Unlimited
Identifies approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations.
Core Collection
Latin American Experience
Dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos, the database meets the research and curriculum needs of students, teachers, librarians, and researchers.
Home Use
Biography Resource Center + Marquis Who's Who®
Search for current or historic people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.
LEARNING EXPRESS
Offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the results you want.
Business and Company Resource Center
Read detailed company and industry news and information.
Core Collection
LitFinder
Contains literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
Career Cruising
Find the career information you're looking for and see multimedia interviews with people in every career.
LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
COLLEGE SOURCE ONLINE
Search 30,000 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover format.
For HOME USE the Username is NMerrick and the Password is the first five digits of your North Merrick Library Card number.
Modern World History
Covers the people, places, and events from mid-15th century to the present.
Community Resource Database of Long Island
Search 6000 agencies and programs in both Nassau and Suffolk counties.
Core Collection
Computing ProQuest
Search computer journals on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.
Home Use
National Newspaper Index
Provides quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.
CredoReference
Gives you a complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers.
Core Collection
National Newspapers Premier ProQuest
Includes full text of papers including national titles such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post and smaller papers from across the U.S.
Home Use
Core Collection
Daily Life in America
Supports courses in American History and Literature, and is an outstanding resource for discovering the history of America.
Home Use
NetLibrary
A collection of eBooks that has been specially created for this library.
Core Collection
Daily Life Through History Premium
Provides content from a vast number of reference works, monographs, and primary documents.
Home Use
New York State Newspapers
Consists of ten major newspapers published in the state of New York.
Discovering Collection
Covers core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science and social studies.
New York Times
Contains Late Edition (East Coast) full text coverage from June 1, 1980.
EBSCO
Offers a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases.
Home Use
NEWSDAY
Includes full text for Newsday articles from 1985.
Core Collection
Education Journals
Is comprised of professional magazines and periodicals related to all aspects of education and education-related issues.
Home Use
Novelist
A "readers' advisor" database that suggests other books based on titles, authors and topics that adults, tenns, and children have enjoyed.
AT HOME ACCESS
Core Collection
Encyclopedia Britannica
Browse for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos and web sites. Choose materials appropriate for your grade level.
Novelist K-8
Suggests fiction titles that are popular with readers for k-8 grade levels.
Core Collection
Financial Times
Known for its in-depth reporting on European company and economic news.
Home Use
New York Online Virtual Electronic Library
Contains a variety of resources − books, magazines, newspapers, research and reference sources.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Consists of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Core Collection
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
A one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues.
General Business File ASAP
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.
Core Collection
Pop Culture Universe
An authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present.
Home Use
General Reference Center Gold
Integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications.
Core Collection
PROMT
Research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journal resources.
Core Collection
General OneFile
Connecting millions of full-text articles on a variety of topics, many with images. Updated daily.
ProQuest
Provides access to more than 4,000 newspapers and periodicals, over a million dissertations, and a wide range of other content.
Core Collection
Global Reference Center or Foreign Language Encyclopedias.
An extensive collection of Encyclopaedia Britannica’s foreign language content, offering information in Spanish, Japanese, Korean, simplified Chinese and French.
Home Use
The ReferenceUSA
Contains, detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses, 210 million U.S. residents, 855,000 U.S. health care providers, 1.5 million Canadian businesses, and 12 million Canadian households.
Grolier Online
Provides access to Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia and The New Book of Knowledge.
HOME USE
Science Online
Presents a range of scientific disciplines through definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
Grove Dictionary of Art
A comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s.
Home Use
Science Resource Center
View thousands of scientific topics, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations from over 200 magazines and academic journals.
Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians Grovemusic.com
Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
Scribner Writers Series
Includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 2,000 authors and literary genres.
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Testing & Education Reference Center
Contains information on college, graduate school, and scholarships. Take on-line practice tests.
Core Collection
Health Management
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration.
Home Use
The Twayne Authors Series - Twayne World, English, and US Authors
Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Twayne Literary Masters series: 200 each from Twayne World, US, and English Authors.
Health Reference Center Academic
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals. The material is intended for informational purposes only.
Core Collection
Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged
With more than 470,000 entries, it is the largest and most comprehensive American dictionary available.
Home Use
Core Collection
Heritage Quest
Offers information contained in these sources: Census, 24,000 Family and local history Books, Persi, Revolutionary War, Freedman’s Bank and LexisNexis US Serial Set.
Home Use
World Book Web Complete Suite
Covers the needs of students from grade school to grad school. Includes World Book Advanced, World Book Online Reference Center, World Book Kids and Enciclopedia Estundiantil Hallazgos.
Core Collection
Historical New York Times (1851 - 2005)
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: Sept 18,1851-Dec 31, 2005.
Home Use
Core Collection
World Data Analyst
Offers quick and easy comparisons of the countries of the world and allows you to create interesting and informative comparative charts and tables.